You cannot update this Service Request because someone else has already updated it.

 
Author
Message
SysAid Customer Relations
99
 
HI All

This issue is not a known issue. How ever is having it please contact our support department and
open a service request at helpdesk@sysaid.com

Thanks

Michael Nahmias
Account Manger
SysAider
44
 
Hi michael,
Stange that you say its not a known issue if you look at the posts a number of people including myself have been in touch with support about it

Cheers
Chris Latta
SysAid VP Customer Relations
604
 
CNXS,

I see why you would think that... This problem could be caused by different issues. We don't want to get log files posted on the forum, as they sometimes include information you wouldn't want to post publicly.
Submitting a service request with our support would allow us to address your specific case without exposing your company details publicly...

Thanks,
Joseph.
SysAider
44
 
I did and they couldnt fix it. I think its something to do with either email intergration or escaltion rules its definately nothing to do with an other service desk administrator updating the same SR. The services the program initiates seems to be able to take over access (or ownership) to any SR that is being accessed by anyone. the only way to gain control over the SR is to refresh which of course means losing all your typing or if your really unfortunate you dont know until you click on apply and lose your work also.

Everyone who uses sysaid is now copying the text into notepad before doing anything, bit sad dont you think?
Elite SysAider
221
 
CNXS wrote:I did and they couldnt fix it. I think its something to do with either email intergration or escaltion rules its definately nothing to do with an other service desk administrator updating the same SR. The services the program initiates seems to be able to take over access (or ownership) to any SR that is being accessed by anyone. the only way to gain control over the SR is to refresh which of course means losing all your typing or if your really unfortunate you dont know until you click on apply and lose your work also.

Everyone who uses sysaid is now copying the text into notepad before doing anything, bit sad dont you think?


It would be great a ticket is "locked" when an administrator is working with it.
so not anybody else can work on it at the same time, cause if someone does then later on we get the message "You cannot update this Service Request because someone else has already updated it"

This is a feature request as well: https://www.sysaid.com/Sysforums/posts/list/6443.page

But so many old helpdesk systems we used in the past do have a ticket lock option, so i do not see why sysaid cannot implement it as well.
SysAider
3
 
We've also been getting this constantly for years now and it's really driving me crazy.

Perhaps we have a different issue with our database or my methodology is bad, but when I assign a job to myself, I hit apply to save the change and allocate the job to me so another admin doesn't pick it up. I then leave the window open and fix the issue for the user, and then update the solution field, and every time without fail it gets the "You cannot update this Service Request because someone else has already updated it" message. I've learned as others have to just use notepad to type your text, and then paste it into the field, but this gets more than a little annoying every single time you respond to a job.

What is the correct workflow to stop this happening? Do you guys normally open the ticket, assign it to yourself, and then shut down the browser and open it again whenever you need to update a field? I'm used to always "applying" any fields I update or modify with other applications, but it seams in Sysaid, this can only be used once in a session, is that right?
SysAider
19
 
Hi Caillin,

I found that this is often caused by the service request being escalated while you're in it. When you try to save it, it tell you that it has been updated. It annoy me a lot too. I hope they will find some solution to this problem.
Elite SysAider
192
 
From our perspective this looks like a probem with sysaid and it is the bigest complain from our engineers, who generally really like the software. We have narrowed it down to:

1. If another admin genuinely updates the ticket at the same time this happens
2. If an email is sent into the call while it is open on your screen
3. If an escalaltion rule runs while the SR is open on your screen
4. If an end user updates the ticket while an admin has it on their screen.


The fix - Notepad (not popular!)

Has anyone else found other situations where this happens? If so please post so Sysaid can get the data they need to fix this.


Thanks

John

Just wanted to add that we are still running 7.5 so this might have been fixed in the latest release.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul. 01, 2011 01:01 PM

Super SysAider
61
 
I have been using SYSAID since version 6.0 and it took me forever to realize why we were getting this message. If there is a ticket that is easily solved I might go in and change the status to closed, the system asks me if I want to assign the SR to me and I say yes then I leave a note and click OK. I then get the cannot update this SR because someone has already updated it. If I had answered NO to the do you want to assign this request to yourself then I don't get the message. So it would seem that if the system is performing some automic function to the SR then you try to modify the SR after this automatic function has taken place then you get this message. THis ccan happen with escilation rules as well.

Thats my 2 cents on why I keep getting that message. Maybe some of you have a similar issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Jul. 27, 2011 02:39 PM

SysAider
16
 
I'm getting this problem as well.

But it's happening when we open a new SR. Can anybody help me?
SysAider
17
 
Please correct me if I am wrong but this is still an issue. We are on 9.0.533 and this problem still plagues us.

I am onboard with locking the record so that a second admin cannot open it. However, an email from an end-user updates the record and can cause an admin to lose data. I would imagine that any automated process that updates a record would cause this error. SysAid should be able to handle these issues more gracefully.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Oct. 30, 2013 09:25 PM

Elite SysAider
105
 
We have this same thing, but it is how we implemented the system.

Whenever an email is received for a specific ticket the status is changed to Open - client Repsonded

Because we chose this functionality we will get this error whenever a tech attempts to edit a ticket and that ticket receives an email.

it is annoying but understandable.
Super SysAider
64
 
Why is it still not possible to fix this.

You could just add the information that the sr is under progress by 'admin' or just block the field where an admin is aditing somthing.
SysAid Technical Writer
923
 
Hi All,
As of the 15.1.6 Cloud Release (already released) and the upcoming 15.2 Release (Scheduled for next month), this situation will be vastly improved. When you try updating an SR that has been updated since you opened it, you will still get the message that your change cannot be saved, but what you did is not erased and after you receive the pop-up message you will then be able to click Cancel to remove your changes or Apply to save your changes.

Hope this helps. Looking forward to hearing your feedback.

Have a great day,
Avi
SysAider
40
 
@Avi

That sounds great but it does not work as you said for 15.4. The changes are not erased - which is great.

But the Apply button is greyed out

I added notes, solution and an activity to a SR. Then I emailed the SR from outlook referencing the #SR Number. Waited one minute and clicked apply. The dreaded "You cannot update this Service Request because someone else has already updated it" message came. The notes, solution and activities were still there, but the OK and Apply buttons are greyed out